Fuerteventura at a glance

Location: Between 28°20' and 28°45' North
Between 14°31' and 13°50' west
Part of the Canary Islands Archipelago
Area: 1659kmē
Max Elevation: 807m (Pico de la Zarza, Jandia)
Coastline: 327km
Length: 98km
Width: 30km
Population: 79,986
Timezone: GMT daylight saving time (same as UK and Ireland)
Electricity: 220v 50hz
2 pin European sockets
Telephone (fixed): RJ11 Connector
Telephone (mobile): GSM 900/1800 network
Telephone Country Code: +34
Currency: Euro
Language: Spanish
Principle Religion: Catholic
Measurements: Metric System
Government (Spain): Constitutional Monarchy. Part of the Canary Islands autonomous region of Spain.
Duty Free Status: The islands enjoy special exemptions from normal EU/Spanish excise duties on Tobacco, Alcohol, perfumes and Petroleum which are all considerably cheaper than in mainland Spain.
Local Capital: Puerto del Rosario
Visas Required: None inside EU, otherwise contact your Spanish Embassy
Inoculations: None, except if coming from an infected area